Virginia drug laws Virginia drug laws are very simple and strict, with penalties related to the nature of the drug crime and very often the amount and type of drugs involved in the crime. This section makes many differences between the different levels or schedules of controlled substances. To learn more about the controlled substance schedules and the reasons and substances in the different schedules, check out the United States.
Department of Justice website here for information on the Act on Controlled Substances. You will also find a list of controlled substances according to the schedule and a list of controlled substances according to the schedule. Although cannabis (marijuana) is a Schedule I controlled substance, the laws of the State of Virginia are closely tailored to cannabis as a separate category of controlled substances.
Transport of controlled substances to Virginia (section 18.2-248.01) A person is to blame for this offense if the person transports (1) (2) with the intent to (3) sell or distribute at least one ounce of cocaine, one ounce of a Schedule I or II controlled substance, or at least five ounces of marijuana. Section 18.2-248.01. A person found guilty of transporting controlled substances to Virginia is sentenced to five to 40 years in prison and up to $ 1 million in fines, plus a mandatory minimum of three years.
Section 18.2-248.01. If a person has been convicted of this violation at least once, they face the same punishment, but with a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years in prison. Section 18.2-248.01. Possession of regulated substances (section 18.2-250) it is illegal for people (1) to knowingly (2) have a controlled substance (3) that has been obtained without a valid prescription or through an authorized means.
Section 18.2-250 (A).The penalties are as follows: Possession of a Schedule I or II controlled substance: Class 5 crime (one to ten years in prison or at the discretion of a jury or the judge who reviews the case, up to 12 months in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 2,500.see section 18.2-10 (e)),Possession of a Schedule III controlled substance: Class 1 offense (up to 12 months in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 2,500 – see Section 18.2-11 (a)),Possession of a Schedule IV controlled substance: Class 2 offense (up to six months in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 1,000 – see Section 18.2-11 (b)),Possession of a Schedule V controlled substance: Class 3 offense (fine of up to $ 500 – see section 18.2-11 (c)),Possession of a Schedule VI controlled substance: Class 4 offense (fine of up to $ 250 – see Section 18.2-11 (d)).Possession of marijuana (section 18.2-250.1)It is illegal for a person (1) to knowingly (2) own marijuana (3) that has not been obtained with a valid prescription or by authorized means.
Section 18.2-250.1 (A). A person who has been convicted of possession of marijuana for the first time faces an offense that can result in up to 30 days in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 500.A person who is guilty of this crime and has previously been convicted of a violation of this section is guilty of a class 1 crime and may face up to 12 months in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 2,500. Section 18.2-250.1 (A); 18.2-11 (a).1. Violation of possession of controlled substances: probation (section 18.2-251) If a person is found guilty of possessing a controlled substance (including marijuana and synthetic cannabinoids) without having previously been convicted of a drug offense and without having been subjected to probation in accordance with this section, then if the court and individual consent The person can be placed on probation and the proceedings against the person are postponed. Section 18.2-251.
The person must successfully complete parole under the conditions set by the court. These include: Assessment of drug abuse; Treatment or education related to controlled substances and abuse; Remaining drug and alcohol free, verified by drug tests;
The individual has to try to be hired. At least 100 hours of community service (for crimes) or 24 hours of community service (for crimes).