According to Virginia Law possession of controlled substance is illegal unless the substance was obtained from a valid prescription or authorized by the Drug Control Act. In case you have been found to be in possession of controlled substance, you will face criminal charges in Shenandoah Virginia. Heroin making a substantial comeback in Shenandoah Virginia and across the country, creating another problem for law enforcement agencies.
What is Possession?
It is not true that any controlled substance needs to be in your physical possession like in purse or pocket, in order for you to be arrested and charged with possession of controlled substance. A controlled substance in a close proximity, inside a box or other container in your personal space, within reach or in such an area that has an immediate access. All of these reasons are enough for you to be charged with possession of controlled substance.
Classification of Controlled Substance
In Shenandoah Virginia, controlled substances are categorized into different schedules. Orderings are determined based on the prospective for misuse balanced against authentic medical uses. Possessing certain kinds of drugs in Shenandoah Virginia are considered as felony according to code 18.2-250. A felony arrest for drug possession for a first-time offender can mean public disgrace, the loss of job and family, and a delay of months in settling the charges
The different schedules of controlled substance includes:
The controlled substance in Schedule I are those which have a high potential for abuse and they have no medical acceptance. The drugs included in this schedule are heroin, ecstasy or LSD. The penalties for Possession of this controlled substances is 10 years of time in jail and a fine of $10,000.
The controlled substance in schedule II are cocaine, methadone, PCP, morphine and methamphetamine. There drugs are very unsafe and extremely addictive. Possession of these drugs is considered as Class 5 felony which includes jail time of 10 years and a fine of $2,500.
The controlled substance in this schedule are, Steroids, Hydrocodone, Vicodin, and Ketamine. Doctors recommend these medicines but they are extremely addictive. Ownership of drugs in this schedule is considered as a Class 1 misdemeanor. On conviction the consequences include one year of jail time and a fine of $2,500.
The controlled substance in schedule IV includes Valium, Xanax and Rohypnol. These are also prescription drugs that are very addictive. Possession of a Schedule IV drug is a Class 2 misdemeanor, and the punishments includes six months in jail and a fine of $1000.
Prescription code medicines and cough syrup comprising codeine form the bulk of this classification. Possession results in a Class 3 misdemeanor with fines of up to $250.
The risk of addiction and possible danger from Schedule V drugs is negligible, with possibly the most recognized substance in this classification being marijuana. The amount is unrelated for a first offense, which levies a misdemeanor charge.